Message sent from:

Phoenix school governor responsibilities

lorraine wright Chair of Governors

 Parent Governor

I have been a governor at Phoenix School for the past 10 years and have just started my second term as Chair of Governors.

I became a governor because I believe in this school and in what it provides for children and young adults with autism.

I wanted to not just stand back and admire the work that is done  but to be actively involved with the school  and to help.

My son has been a pupil here and is now part of the successful Satellite class at Bow School.

My key area of responsibility is Key stage 5 governor. I am also the link governor for Expressive Arts  and Health and Safety and Child Protection.

I sit on the Finance , Curriculum and building committees.

I have a passion for the Arts in Schools  and I have seen  the amazing results in our pupils as they find ways of expressing their thoughts and feelings through their involvement in various projects.

IMG_8217 Lorraine Wright
laura worsley

laura worsley Vice Chair of Governors

Before I became a governor at Phoenix I was already aware of the school's innovative and highly successful practice in terms of teaching and learning. My role in a local secondary school, has given me direct experience of the Phoenix Outreach Programme to support staff and pupils across Tower Hamlets. It is held in high esteem by teachers who benefit from the professional advice and support offered regarding meeting the needs of pupils with autism.

I was therefore delighted when I was invited to join the governing body as a co-opted governor. Phoenix is a partner school within the Teach East London Teaching School Alliance (TELTSA), as is my school, and it seemed right to enhance the general ethos of collaboration and sharing of ideas between TELTSA  schools by having staff members work within governing bodies across the alliance. Learning from each other is such a vital part of successful leadership in education, and supporting each other in providing excellent education for Tower Hamlets children can only lead to positive outcomes.

IMG_8040 (2)

Tafara Craig

My name is Tafara and I am the Support Staff Governor at Phoenix. I have held this position since Spring 2016. I joined the Phoenix team in January 2014 as a Teaching Assistant, as I believed in the school’s ethos and passion for providing the children and young people of Tower Hamlets an enriching specialist education, whilst helping them reach their full potential both now and in the future. I hold a Post Graduate Certificate (Masters level) in adult autism and have a keen interest in helping individuals on the autism spectrum enter meaningful employment. My first year at Phoenix was spent in the 6th Form. During the last academic year (2015-2016) I worked as the Lead Learning Mentor of PATH, Phoenix’s specialist further education service for 19-25 year olds with complex autism based in Tower Hamlets College. In September 2016 I began teacher training with LETTA, an alliance of good and outstanding schools in East London of which Phoenix is a part. The course allows me to gain teaching experience in main stream primary schools before returning to Phoenix in January 2017 to teach class 2A.​

IMG_8214Pip Pinhorn

pip pinhorn

Having qualified as a Social Worker I came to live and work in Tower Hamlets 40years ago.  For 6 years I was employed in the East London Family Services Unit, a charity working with families experiencing rather more complex difficulties in their lives, only leaving as I was pregnant with my elder of two sons.  It was whilst I was home and family based that I began to volunteer in the Toy Library movement and was a co founder of the Bow Toy Library. In the fullness of time, when my sons were in school and playgroup, I took on a part time role within Toyhouse, a local family support charity.  As the years have passed and Toyhouse has grown, my role has increased and diversified, such that for the last 15 years I have been the Toyhouse Manager, with a particular focus on support to families, including those who have a child with some form of additional need, building on the skills I developed when I spent my student vacations working in a residential centre for children with a range of significant special needs. 

I have been a Governor at Phoenix school for over 20years, including a term as Vice Chair, and I am a member of the Finance sub Committee.  I am the Governor with responsibility for The Early Years and I also visit and provide support to the Phoenix Toy and Leisure Libraries each term. 


Emily Simpson

I became a co-opted governor at Phoenix School in 2014. At the time, I was working as a Grants Officer for BBC Children in Need and wanted to give something back to my local community. In between looking after my son, I now work as consultant for the charity sector - specialising in  fundraising, impact measurement and grant management. I am the school's link governor for Outreach and sit on the curriculum committee. Phoenix School makes an enormous difference to the lives of so many young people and it is a privilege to work together with fellow governors to support the continued success of the school.




I was elected to the governing body as a parent governor in 2013. My daughter has attended the school since 2011. I work at the Parents Advice Centre in Tower Hamlets supporting families and young people with SEND. In addition to serving on the Curriculum Committee, I am the link Governor for PATH - Phoenix' post 19 provision currently based at Tower Hamlets College. I am passionate about championing the rights of disabled children and their families. I joined the governing body in the hope of helping to build on the school's previous successes in this regard.

IMG_8121 (2)


I have just recently become a staff governor and it is a pleasure for me to be able to contribute to a school which gives all its pupils the opportunity to thrive and be the best they can be.

My experiences before joining the school were as Parent Support Advisor, Learning mentor and then working with pupils with Social, emotional and behaviour difficulties. I helped to set up and run a nurture base serving 17 Primary schools in a local borough which focused on the attachment model and this was an early intervention provision.

Whilst gaining experience in different educational settings I embarked on a Psychology degree and successfully completed a Post graduate certificate in Child, adolescent and family mental well-being: multidisciplinary practice.

I first joined Phoenix over 5 years ago and was employed as a Speech and Language Therapy Teaching Assistant. Following this I had opportunity to train on the Letta school direct programme and have been teaching now for 4 years.

I have been phase leader for 2 years and work with Early years and key stage 1 and have a fantastic department which I am very proud of. Children have positive outcomes and learn the skills which will support them as they move through the school and wider environment.

Currently I am studying on the NQPML programme and currently working with 7 classes on a project supporting sensory integration for identified pupils.

Insert content here


Neil schroeder

I have Iived in Tower Hamlets for nearly twenty years and I have worked in the financial sector for over twenty years representing oil and gas companies. My daughter has been attending Phoenix for twelve years so I was therefore very pleased to become a co-opted governor of Phoenix School in 2017 and thereby make a contribution to the school that has played such an important part in her life. Amongst other activities I sit on the finance committee and am governor liaison for Keys Stage 5.